Final Thoughts: Stephen Kings IT and it’s Adaptations

Now that I’ve had a little more time to process the movie (and have spent a decent chunk of time reading other people’s opinions about the new adaptation) it’s time to recap some of the thoughts I talked about this week and talk about where I stand on everything.

Tim Curry

Note: This, unlike many of the reviews I’ve done this week, will be somewhat vague and 100% spoiler free – so anyone interested may read safely.

The book It has an original premise and well developed characters. If you’re a fan of Stephen King’s writing, there’s a pretty good chance that you’ll enjoy this book, even if it’s not your favorite. I’ve spent a lot of time nitpicking and griping this week, but I think it’s important to remember that there are a lot of great things about the story – especially where the book is concerned.

The miniseries and the new movie aren’t exactly terrible either, even if I have had a lot of negative things to say about them. All three versions contain a diverse cast and draw sympathy from everyone’s inner loser. They all have moments of memorable and effective imagery. Most importantly, all three versions are highly entertaining, even if they’re not my favorites.

If you value sticking to the source material more than aesthetic, I would recommend the miniseries over the movie – but I have to admit, I’m impressed by how many people are saying that the new movie has really scared them. I don’t see it, but I’m glad that the film is doing well, and you know I’ll still be going to see Chapter 2 on opening day.

Remember to check in tomorrow, as I’ll be providing a list of Stephen King projects that I would recommend even more highly.

One thought on “Final Thoughts: Stephen Kings IT and it’s Adaptations

Leave a Reply

