Review: Pet

A year after its release, I finally got the chance to see Pet, so now of course I want to talk about it.

Pet-Movie-e1477247099157

Since I want everyone to get the chance to be as surprised by this movie as I was, this will be a spoiler-free review, and 100% safe to read.

What I loved about this movie is that it was genuinely surprising. It tells a unique story, it brings new spins to old concepts, and there is a lot more going on than what meets the eye initially.

Like any good psychological horror film, it doesn’t rely on gore for scares but neither does it shy away from cringe-worthy moments and disturbing visuals. The blood is there as an accent to the movie rather than to be the focus. The violence is there to further the plot, not to gross out the audience. The driving force behind the movie is in the minds of its characters.

It’s the sort of story that took a lot of risks, but most of the panned out pretty nicely.

While I wouldn’t necessarily list this among my favorites, Pet is a strong addition to modern, psychological horror films and is well worth watching. It didn’t disappoint me after a long time waiting to see it, and you guys know I set my standards pretty high.

 

 

 

One thought on “Review: Pet

Leave a Reply

