Movie Review: Dark Tower

The-Dark-Tower

Alright, so I know that this is more dark fantasy than horror, but I hope that you’ll allow me to get off-topic because I was wrong about this movie, and I’d like to publicly set the record straight.

(Don’t worry, this review is 100% spoiler free)

I’ve been waiting for a Dark Tower movie virtually my whole life, and was stoked about this project for a long time. I almost cried with joy the day that Idris Elba was confirmed to play Roland Deschain. I was so excited.

Then the trailer came out and my interest in the film faltered. It didn’t look terrible or anything, but it was clear that it was going to tell a story way different from the books, and way different from the movie I had been dreaming of for so long. What really scared me is that it looked very average. Seeing the trailers was very underwhelming for me, and I started trying to mentally prepare myself for heartache.

Of course, I went to see it opening day regardless, because it’s a Stephen King adaptation and that’s a really big deal in my family. (Plus I might have an addiction to seeing movies on their release date.)

I am so very happy to say that I was wrong. The film isn’t mediocre, or average, or disappointing. It’s a good movie, and I’m so glad that I gave it a chance despite my misgivings.

I did have some issues with it, don’t get me wrong. I have issues with everything. The good far outweighs the bad and it’s well-worth viewing. The acting was great, the cinematography was breathtaking, and when it gets right down to it, it tells a good story.

I won’t pick apart the movie or say too much about it other than it’s enjoyable, and if you get the chance to see it in theater, you should take it.

Leave a Reply

